32 Molesworth Street is a special place. The kind of development that happens all too rarely in the lifetime of a city. Where typically old buildings are torn down and replaced with new ones, 32 Molesworth Street takes a different approach.
Here is a development that pays tribute to the past – you can see it in the property’s elegant Georgian frontage, and feel it in the carefully conserved brickwork – while looking boldly to the future.
During the 17th century, the area of Dublin presently occupied by Molesworth Street was acquired by the 1st Viscount Molesworth and renamed the Molesworth Fields. Thirty years later, the 3rd Viscount Molesworth began converting the Molesworth Fields into a handsome residential suburb.
The Georgian era was a vibrant time in Dublin’s history. The first Georgian townhouses were built on what later became Molesworth Street in about 1727. Following the completion of Leinster House in 1747, Molesworth Street became one of the most prestigious addresses in the capital, attracting the social elite. Over the course of the 19th century, the houses along the street became home to a new class of citizen – primarily doctors, lawyers and scholars. Consequently stylish shops and restaurants sprang up to serve them.
In 1764, the Rev. Roger Ford, a schoolmaster of considerable repute, moved to No. 32. Robert Jephson, the dramatist, and Edmund Malone, the Shakespearean critic, were both educated here. In the 1901 Census of Ireland, No.s 31 – 35 were held by John W. Ellison McCartney, an Irish barrister and Conservative politician.
Today Molesworth Street, with its fine Georgian terraces, is primarily occupied by solicitors, embassies, ICT companies and art galleries. It remains the most fashionable part of the city.